Festival Frolics: Impossible Not to XXXO Sónar 2011.

Last year's Sónar was an experience like few others. From Fuck Buttons to Flying Lotus, Roxy Music to Richie Hawtin the line up reeked of eclecticism and eccentricity, and this year's run-down continues coursing in the same vein. Again sprawled out across the city, the central, sunshine-stained Sonar by Day features the likes of estranged Battles boy Tyondai Braxton, cutesy cult pop from Little Dragon, venomous lo-fi howls from Hype Williams and genre-hopping electronica from Floating Points. Half way across Barcelona, Sonar by Night boasts intergalactic soul from Janelle Monáe, brain-wrecking from Chris Cunningham and Aphex Twin, punchy electro grot from Underworld and M.I.A. returns to the Spanish coastal hub. Dots & Dashes' preferred minimal kingpin Alva Noto is also set to team up with legendary Japanese composer Ryuichi Sakamoto in what promises to be a truly unique denouement to the 2011 edition.

This year's full line up includes:

Underworld * M.I.A. * Aphex Twin * Magnetic Man * Steve Reich + bcn216 + Synergy Vocals * Die Antwoord * The Human League * Cut Copy * Janelle Monáe * Paul Kalkbrenner * Chris Cunningham * Boys Noize * Buraka Som Sistema * Katy B * Apparat * Alva Noto & Ryuichi Sakamoto * Shackleton * James Holden * Nicolas Jaar * Global Communication * A-Trak * Atmosphere * Toro Y Moi * Annie Mac * Hype Williams * Little Dragon * Tyondai Braxton * Mary Anne Hobbs * Floating Points * Steve Aoki * Actress * Yelle * Scuba * Dominique Young Unique * Agoria * DZA * Benji B * Pearson Sound aka Ramadanman * Gilles Peterson * How To Dress Well * Surgeon * Open Reel Ensemble * Silent Servant * Diskjokke * DELS * Lory D * Africa Hitech * Toddla T * Redlight feat. Ms. Dynamite & Dread MC * The Gaslamp Killer * Astrud + Col·lectiu Brossa

For more info on Sónar 2011, the official site can be found here, whilst tickets (for those of you residing in the UK) can be acquired here.